Chicago Classical Review

Chicago Classical Review

Updated: 11 days, 12 hours, 13 minutes, 39 seconds ago

Fri Nov 18, 2022 at 1:59 pm

By Lawrence A. Johnson

Gautier Capuçon performed Lera Auerbach’s Diary of a Madman in its U.S. premiere with Manfred Honeck and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra Thursday night. Photo: Todd Rosenberg Photography 2022

Be it music, books or paintings, the greatest works of art tell us as much about our time as the era in which they were created, often doing so with surprising freshness and significance,.

The Russian program performed by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under Manfred Honeck was a case in point. In the spotlight was Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony as well as Lera Auerbach’s Diary of a Madman, a cello concerto performed in its U.S premiere by soloist Gautier Capuçon Thursday night.

Auerbach is one of our most gifted and prolific composers. Born in Russia and long resident in the West, she has written extensively in every medium, an output that includes operas, three symphonies, four concertos for violin, and a host of instrumental and chamber works with nine string quartets. Her oeuvre even boasts a huge, environmentally minded work for piano, chorus and orchestra titled ARCTICA.

Diary of a Madman was inspired by the short story of the same name by Nikolai Gogol, the Russian writer who also inspired an opera from Auerbach. In the story the insignificant government clerk Poprishchin becomes increasingly unhinged, gradually losing his grip on reality until he goes insane altogether.

In the program note Auerbach states that while she did not realize a parallel while writing the work, after Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, she now sees an “eerie resonance’ between the grandiose delusions of Gogol’s protagonist in her concerto and those of Vladimir Putin.

Auerbach also movingly relates the harrowing tragedies visited upon her family under the Soviet regime; not least a great-grandfather who she says was tortured to death by Stalin’s secret police in one of their anti-Jewish purges.

Unfortunately, the program note doesn’t have a single word about the actual music in Diary of a Madman, so audience members have to fend for themselves.

Cast in a single substantial movement, the concerto is characteristic of Auerbach’s stark style— extreme contrasts in material, tempo and dynamics—set against an overall atmosphere of bleakness and gloom.

The concerto begins with barely audible high tendrils from the cello soloist which segue into a burst of aggressive agitation. The  orchestra enters with chimes in music that continues the atmosphere of darkness and unease.

And so it goes with the solo protagonist’s moments of quiet passages, at times with portamento slides, set against restless, roiling orchestral music—here a lamentatory trombone solo, distorted folkish snatches and sleazy dance music for low brass. Bursts of fast music for the cellist alternate with lyrical sections like nostalgic memories of happier times. 

A surprisingly traditional cadenza leads to more orchestral  vehemence until the music slows and the cello finishes where it began—closing with a soft high note on a long-drawn diminuendo to silence.

While hardly a light-hearted romp, Diary of a Madman is reflective of Auerbach’s unique if decidedly dark style. While the concerto is surely crafted and compelling, at its present 35-minute span, the music begins to feel a little repetitious after the halfway mark. Some judicious pruning might make an even more convincing case.

No complaints need be made about the performance. Gautier Capuçon provided poetic and masterful advocacy, handling the technical challenges with ease and communicating an affecting human quality throughout in his refined, expressive playing.

Honeck’s detailed yet concentrated direction of this challenging score showed the conductor just as impressive in new works as in the Austro-German cornerstones. He drew polished and kaleidoscopic playing from the orchestra, and soloist, conductor and composer were all warmly applauded for their efforts.

Conductor Manfred Honeck, composer Lera Auerbach and cellist Gautier Capuçon acknowledge applause following the U.S. premiere of Auerbach’s Diary of a Madman. Photo: Todd Rosenberg

The concerto was preceded by Glinka’s indestructible Ruslan and Ludmila Overture. Honeck led a fast, exhilarating reading with especially dazzling violins. The muddled woodwinds not so much.

Auerbach’s work formed a seamless prelude to Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5, even employing some of the same offbeat scoring (including celesta).

The famous tale of how the premiere of the “heroic” Fifth restored Shostakovich to the good graces of Stalin and the Russian cultural commissars is well known, even if the composer’s abject apologia that came with the score  (“A Soviet artist’s reply to justified criticism”) remains cringeworthy.

Honeck led a straightforward Fifth, which,  if not quite revelatory, delivered a taut, powerful and notably well-played performance of Shostakovich’s most popular work.

Manfred Honeck led the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in music of Glinka, Auerbach and Shostakovich Thursday night. Photo: Todd Rosenberg

Perhaps inevitably, the malign militaristic march of the opening movement took on an unsettling contemporary significance. While giving the aggressive moments emphatic punch, Honeck allowed the fleeting moments of sunlight to come through, organically building to a grinding climax and then a smooth descent as the music ebbed away at the coda. The Scherzo was more biting and edgy than jocular with acute dynamic marking across all sections. 

The heart of this performance came with the Largo. Honeck and the musicians charted this somber meditation from the plaintive opening statement in the second violins to a growing intensity. The conductor was especially good at drawing playing of hushed concentration, winnowing the violins down to a sliver of tone.

Honeck took the rambunctious finale at a crackling pace. Even with a subtle broadening of tempo for the final section there was little sense of Volkov-ian irony at the coda, here put across with massive power and weight as blasted out by stentorian brass and pounding timpani.

A bland oboe solo apart, the playing was consistently superb throughout with especially fine contributions from timpanist David Herbert, associate concertmaster Stephanie Jeong and guest harpist Eleanor Kirk.

Honeck is a dynamic podium presence who draws consistently inspired performances from the CSO. With his impressive handling of the Auerbach premiere, especially, the Austrian conductor must continue to figure high on any short list of potential successors to Riccardo Muti.

The program will be repeated 8 p.m. Saturday and 3 p.m. Sunday.

Posted in Performances

Leave a Comment

hit counter